Choose Your Team
Event Planning

Captured Event

November 11, 2005 - Young Achievement Celebrated by Boys and Girls Club

What: Youth of the Year Dinner

Where: INVESCO Field at Mile High

When: November 11, 2005

Time: 5:30 - MIdnight

Beneficiary: Boys and Girls Club of Metro Denver

Honoree(s): Angel Gutierrez Youth of the Year, BreOnna Tindall Junior of the Year Winner

Gala Chairperson(s): Teresa Immel & Cappy Shopneck

President(s): John Arigoni

Catering: Epicurean Catering

Entertainment: Comedian Bryan Kellen

Music: Chase N The Dream

Sponsors: Platinum Sponsor: Oakwood Homes Diamond Sponsors: Wells Fargo Bank. Metro Landscaping, Dex Media, Gold Sponsors: Howell Construction, Berenbaum, Weinshienk & Eason, MDC Holdings, Richmond American Homes, First Western Trust Bank, FSN Rocky Mountain Silver Sponsors: Whirpool, Foley’s, Gay & Lesbian Fund for Colorado, Holme Roberts & Owen, Rusty Henson, Tire Recycling, Brian & Janet Jefferies, Western Gas Resources, FirstBank of Colorado, Fairfield and Woods, Scott & Virginia Reiman, Opus Northwest, Robert & Cappy Shopneck, Moen, Nancy Gegenheimer Bronze Sponsors: Duke Energy, Cambro Cares Foundation, Merrill Lynch, Max Caulkins, Don & Mary Elliman, Capital Access Mortage, Calcon Constructors, Caleb & Sidney Gates, Flood and Peterson Insurance,m Xcel Energy, Colorado State Bank & Trust, Jared Polis Foundation, Steve & Kathy McConahey, Mary Beth McKibben, Maggie & Mitch Morrissey, Holland & Hart, Eastern Colorado Royalties, Powers Product Co., Colo. Interstate Gas Company, Alpine Plumbing, Mountain States Bank, Forest City Stapleton, Jay & Marissa Tracey, OZ Architecture, Dick & Ze Deane, Bob & Shannon DeMonbrun, Bravada Partners, Jordan Perlmutter & Co. BelShower Door, Monier Life Tile

Attendance: 800

Special Thanks: Anheuser Busch, Sidney Brock, Bud Light, Bud Select, CEAVCO, Centerplate, Cloth Connection, Coca-Cola, Denver Broncos Cheerleaders, Design Works, W.J. Duetsch, Epicurean Caering, FSN Rocky Mountain, Invesco at Mile High, Nick Jurjovec, Krispy Kreme, Mondo Vino, Nathanson & Associates, Clay Pahlau, Rodriguez CreativeSkyline Talents & Events, Southern Wine & Spirits, Stillman Photographics, The Light Group, Two Men With Hearts Moving & Storage


Board of Directors: Patricia Baca, Jim Bershof, Ben Brown, Ed Brown, Samuel Butler III, Linda Campbell Reilly, Max Caulkins, Lori Corless Kennedy, Peter Cudlip, Don Elliman, Cindy Galloway Kellogg, Sidney Gates, Nancy Gegenheimer, Matthew Gold, Patrich Hamill, Russell Henson, George Hopfenbeck, Jim Howell, Abby Homphrey, Dan Igoe, Teresa Immel, Steve McConahey, James McCotter, Mary Beth McKibben, John Meyer, Maggie Morrissey, Haven Moses, Jim Mullagin, will Nicholson, William O’Connel, Jr. Thomas O’Donnell, Chuck Owen, Marc Parker, Deana Perlmutter, Brent Powers, John Shaw, Robert Shopneck, Guadaulpe Sisneros, Paul Suss, Marilyn Taylor, Danicel Thompson, Michael Touff, Jay Tracey, Jim Vaughn, Greg Vickers, Mike Vickers, Scott Wylie

Steering Committee: Andrea Powers, Barbara Cole, Dan Dampier, Jon Kinning, Kitty Hamill, Leanne Toler, Lynn Brown, Mark Tomko, Mel Small, Abby Humprhey, Brent Powers, Charlie Lodge, Dan Thompson, Diane Shurtleff, Jeannine Marckstein, Jennifer Rice, Michele Austin, Scott Rice, Thomas Jones, Tracey Raiford, Brian Jeffries, Buddy Smith, Ed Brown, Jim Mulligan, Lori Corless Kennedy, Patrick Hamill, Scott Wylie, Thomas O’Donnell, Bev Martinez, Pam Krotchko

 Congratulations Angel Gutierrez, 2005 Youth of the Year.
Congratulations Angel Gutierrez, 2005 Youth of the Year.

Since 1961 the Boys & Girls Club of Denver has been serving our youth. Did you know that the Boys & Girls Club of Denver serve more than 20,000 kids each year? The 12 honorees should and did feel special by being chosen from among this large pool. More than 800 people poured into Invesco Field at Mile High to celebrate the Boys & Girls Clubs and to honor these outstanding kids. Before dinner, guests were treated to a wonderful silent auction display and great appetizers by Epicurean Catering. Of course, someone must be there to point the way for the kids. The entire community is better for having a strong and dedicated Board of Directors. Richard “Dick” Deane was honored as the Champion of Youth, and for good reason. Mr. Deane joined the Clubs six after they opened. He joined the Board in 1969 and played a key leadership role for the next 40 years. He served as President of the Board from 1978-1980 and again from 1992-1993. The Champion of Youth award is the highest honor presented to a community member or organization. Youth of the Year was given to Angel Gutierrez. Angel has been a member of the Boys & Girls clubs for the past 9 years. When Angel was 15 she had to quit school to become the sole caretaker for her two younger brothers. When they were able to move back with their mother, Angel was able to return to school and now has plans to attend Adams State College. The 2005 Jr. Youth of the Year Winner was BreOnna Tindall. BreOnna has been going to the Boettcher Branch for four years. She is involved with the Keystone Club, Words Can Heal and helps tutor younger members in math and English. Rashinda Lee, Romeo Lovelace, Nicole Carlson, Andrew Martinez and David Olivas were recognized as Senior Youth of the Year Honorees. Rashinda has been active for 5 years at the Boettcher branch. She has been very active in the community volunteering with a number of causes. Romeo attends the Denver Broncos Boys and Girls Club and has completed hundreds of hours of community service through the Words Can Heal program. Nicole attends the William E. Cope Branch and has been active for 10 years. She coaches girls soccer and helps out with other sports. Andrew attends the Arthur Johnson Branch. Andrew was chosen to attend the National Keystone Conference this year because of his outstanding leadership with his Club. David goes to the George M. Wilfley Branch and has been active for the past 7 years. He is involved with Keystone Club, Lynch’s leaders and has been trained in the Anti-Defamation League Peer Leader Program. Also recognized as 2005 Junior Youth of the Year Honorees were Shantaya Martinez, Amaryss Rodriguez, Gabriel Rodriguez, T’Keyah Henry and Dominic Martin. Shantaya has been active in art, basketball, soccer and is currently the Vice-President of the Torch Club. Amaryss has been a member for five years. Only 12-years- old, Amaryss is active in a variety of programs that work with art, sports and technology. Gabriel is planning on being the first member of his family to graduate from college. He is well on his way as he is a student of high achievement. T’Keyah has many achievements to her credit and was chosen for the President’s Youth in Service Award which allowed her to meet President Bush. Dominic has been active with the Boy’s Club for the past 6 years.

See More Past Events