Choose Your Team
Event Planning

Captured Event

February 10, 2006 - Celebrating Colorado's Rich Tennis History

What: Colorado Tennis Hall of Fame Gala

Where: Marriott Denver Tech Center

When: February 10, 2006

Time: 5:30 pm cocktail hour followed by dinner and program

Ticket Prices: $65 individual, $100 patron, $40 junior, $1,500 table of ten

Beneficiary: At Risk Youth, Colorado Youth Tennis Foundation

Host(s): Colorado Tennis Association

Master of Ceremonies: Ed Greene

President(s): Jon Messick

Welcome: Jon Messick President Colorado Tennis Association

Speaker: Lisa Zenoff, Colorado Youth Tennis Foundation

Sponsors: Platinum Sponsors: Chris, Tammy, and Elizabeth Marsico Table Sponsors: Jerry and Marty Berglund, The Broadmoor In Appreciation: American Tape & Label, C2 Media, CBS 4, Ed Greene, Kevin & Courtneay Odden

Attendance: 300

Attire: Business

Special Thanks: Platinum Sponsors, Chris, Tammy, and Elizabeth Marsico

Board of Directors: Jon Messick-President, Karen Brandner-Vice President, Kathleen Winegardner-Secretary, Nancy Pflughoeft-Treasurer, Judy Anderson, Dan Gonzales, Art Rimando, Rob Scott, Mark Scruggs, Nik Sorovic, Lisa Wojtas, Richard Young, Lena Elliott, Sherril Kerr, Jim Whiteside, Richard Hillway, Susan Hommel, LiLi Bell Shelton, Lisa Zenoff

Blacktie Photos by: Tracy E. Hoback

 Lisa Floyd, left, Breanne Murray, Anya Salzgeber, Rebecca Timmerman, Kerry Enochs, Molly Weiss, members of the Streamboat Springs Girls Tennis Team
Lisa Floyd, left, Breanne Murray, Anya Salzgeber, Rebecca Timmerman, Kerry Enochs, Molly Weiss, members of the Streamboat Springs Girls Tennis Team

Tracy E. Hoback

A true ace of an event! Attendees of the annual Colorado Tennis Hall of Fame Gala had a swinging good time.

The Colorado Tennis Association is an organization that promotes the sport through activities that develop skills and enjoyment for players of all ages and abilities. CTA provides programs such as; Sanctioned Tournaments, Junior Development Programs, Adult and Junior Leagues, Grants for local tennis programs, and Programs for the Physically Challenged.

Guests gathered in the foyer were greeted by old and new, friends and family, and great feeling of welcome. As the cocktail hour ensued, handshakes, hugs, and smiles were given generously. Mixing and mingling, enjoying a drink, reminiscing of past and present tennis events, the cocktail hour was a success.

In the VIP reception attendees snacked on light hour d’ oeuvres and enjoyed cocktails. Included in the VIP reception were several of the 2005 Colorado Tennis Hall of Fame Inductees. It was obvious by their smiles, to see how honored they were to be there. Among the Inductees were members of the Board of Trustee of the Colorado Youth Tennis Foundation, the beneficiary of the evening’s event. Lisa Zenoff, President of the CYTF, told guests that their attendance at the event helped raise over $20,000 that evening. What a fun time for a great cause.

The Colorado Youth Tennis Foundation is a nonprofit branch of the Colorado Tennis Association. Their purpose is to help individuals and programs for junior players. They strive to provide the opportunity for all youth in Colorado to learn and to play tennis.

As the cocktail hour ended, the ballroom doors were opened inviting the guests in for dinner and for the award program. During dinner guests ate and talked with their tablemates, caught up with old friends and made new friends. As I was told, so many of the guests played with or against each other at one time or another. Other attendees were there to support a friend or a family member.

One table of ten was the Krammer Family, recipients of the Carter & Lena Elliott Award. This award is given each year to a family whom provide excellent service to tennis in their community. The Krammer Family included Mr. and Mrs. Krammer, their eight children, and both of Mrs. Krammer’s parents. An outstanding example of a family that loves tennis and enjoys playing together as well as fostering that feeling in their community.

As dessert was being served, the program began. Ed Greene of CBS 4 opened with a joke. As laughter filled the room, it set the mood for a fun award ceremony.

Each CTA 2005 Hall of Fame Inductee was given a trophy as well as an opportunity to say a few words; some were more than a few words. One common factor in each speaker was their true love and devotion to the sport of tennis. The 2005 Inductees were Miko Ando, Arnold Brown, Willa Wolcott Condon, Chet Murphy, and Jeanette Paddock.

Along with the 2005 Inductee awards, the CTA also recognized 24 other award winners. Each year these awards are given for various accomplishments such as top High School Girls Tennis Team, Outstanding Contributions by a Colorado Organization to the Tennis Community, Outstanding Senior Female Player, and so many others.

Ed Greene introduced each award and each award winner and gave the audience a true appreciation for each by telling of accomplishments or contributions which led each recipient to receive their award. There was a great feeling of pride and respect throughout the room.

As the program ended and guests began to leave, there was not a frown in sight. Just as the evening had begun, it ended with handshakes, hugs, and smiles.

See More Past Events