Choose Your Team
Event Planning

Captured Event

October 28, 2006 - 21st Annual Crystal Ball Shoots for the Stars

Where: Adam's Mark

When: Saturday, October 28

Time: 5:30 pm

Ticket Prices: $175.00

Beneficiary: Jefferson Foundation

Honoree(s): Jeffrey S. Ashby 2006 Distinguished Alumnus Award, Kiwanis Clubs of Jefferson County 2006 Distinguished Service Recipient,

EMCEE: Lynn Setzer and Steve Saunders

Presenting Sponsor(s): Salazar Family Foundation

Executive Director: Mona Sandoval

Staff: Anton Delgado, Cyndee Manaugh, Amanda Kirby

Introductions: Jon DeStefano, President, The Jefferson Foundation

Welcome: Mona Sandoval

Entertainment: Look Both Ways

Music: String Quartet from Arvada High School, Columbine High School Choir

Sponsors: Professor: 1ST Bank, Scholar:Stifel Nicolaus, Mentor:Wells Fargo, Counselor:Billings Investments, Caplan and Earnest, LLC, Clifton Gunderson, LLP, Gambro, Gerald H. Phipps, Inc. Great-West Retirement Services, Herron Enterprises, USA, Inc., Jefferson County Administrators' Association, Kaiser Permanente, Kutak Rock, LLP, LMC Community Foundation, Lockheed Martin, Sherman & Howard, LLC, YTB Travel Network, Inc. Friends of the Foundation: Dempsey Family, First Community Bank, City of Westminster, Colorado Petroleum Association, Exempla Lutheran Medical Center, The Graff Consulting Group, LLC., Guaranty Bank and Trust Co. Jared Polis Foundation, Jeffco Credit Union, Lee Kunz Construction, Mile HIgh Newspapers, Pepsi, Rainbow Rewards, Red Rocks Community College Foundation, St. Anthony Health Foundation, Dr. Cynthia Stevenson, Supertinendent, Jeffco Public Schools Honors: Mercer Human Resources Consulting, Kroger Foundation - King Soopers, M+O+A Architectural Partnership, Nassau Partners, Ltd. RLH Engineering, RTA, Inc. UBS Financial Services

Auctioneer: Dax Gillium

Attendance: 550

Special Thanks: John and Pam Purvis, Purvis Jewelers, Kevin King, Award Classics, The Staff of the Adams Mark, Warren Tech, Friends at 809 Quail, Blacktie Colorado

Planning Committee: Cyndee Manaugh, Lola Salazar, Anton Delgado, Jon DeStefano, Jane Gilmore, Mandy Kirby, Monda Sandoval

Board of Directors: Les Willson, Buddy Douglass, Dr. Cynthia Stevenson, Hon. R. Brooke Jackson, Tori Merritts, Curtis Gilmore, Jeff Lamontagne, Mark Messenbaugh, Jon DeStefano, Stan Dempsey, Jr. Lori Hoffner, Kim Crawford, Julie McLean, Jane Barnes

Steering Committee: Kathy Anderson, Dave Baker, Ray Baker, Steve Bell, Beverly Brayden, Neal Browne, Gerald Caplan, Dr. Wayne Carle, Judy Carstens-Wonnng, Bud Collier, Dr. John Dahl, Helen Gair, Luanne Hazelrigg, Bill Johnson, George Latuda, Ray May, The Hon. Al Meiklejohn, Mindy Meiklejohn, Janet Meyers, Jane Oehm, Dr. John Peper, The Hon. Ed Perlmutter, Dr. Edie Petrock, Jared Polis, William Ross, Lola Salazar

 Astronaut Jeffrey Ashby and Superintendent Cynthia Stevenson
Astronaut Jeffrey Ashby and Superintendent Cynthia Stevenson

Not every school district can boast of having helped educate an astronaut, but Jeffco Schools can. And Saturday night at the 21st Annual Crystal Ball, this man about space was honored. Jeffrey Ashby received the Distinguished Alumnus Award. While astronaut Ashby knows a lot about the stars in the galaxy, there were plenty of stars of the human kind on hand.

Ed Perlmutter, candidate for Congress took time off from campaigning to attend the event and show his support for the Jefferson Foundation. But you need look no further than Executive Director Mona Sandoval to see someone who knows how to work a room. She literally was being stopped every three feet by well wishers, and she knew them all by name. Considering that there were over 550 people in the room, that's quite an achievement.

But achievement of another kind is what everyone turned out to support. The Jefferson Foundation was the first K-12 public education foundation in the State of Colorado and continues to pursue the legacy of its founding members.

first presidentsFirst Foundation Presidents:

Jane Oehm (1987),

R. Haydn Silleck (1986), and

Wayne VanArsdale (1985.)

Having the same stellar event for 21 years speaks volumes about Jefferson Schools and the high regard that Jefferson County residents hold Colorado's largest school district. For those of you that have a couple of teenagers, imagine what it must be like to be Superintendent Cynthia Stevenson; she must watch over 80,000 or so.

Other stars in the firmament were the Kiwanis Clubs of Jefferson County. Over the years, hundreds and thousands of individuals have selflessly given their time, energy and money to make Jefferson County a better place to live.

Emcee Steve Saunders of KMGH Channel 7 was a good sport and let his high school yearbook photo appear on the screen. The Look Both Ways band, comprised of Kiwanians, rocked the house until the late hours.  But since this was the night that the clocks "fell back" no one seemed to mind.

See More Past Events