Choose Your Team
Event Planning

Captured Event

February 09, 2007 - Individuals Honored for Dedication to Colorado Tennis

What: Colorado Tennis Hall of Fame Gala

Where: Marriott Denver Tech Center

When: February 9, 2007

Time: Cocktails 5:30 p.m.; dinner followed by program 7:00 p.m.

Ticket Prices: $1,500 patron table; $100 patron ticket; $70 adult ticket; $45 junior ticket

Beneficiary: Colorado Youth Tennis Foundation

Host(s): Colorado Tennis Association and Colorado Youth Tennis Foundation

Honoree(s): Bruce Avery, W. Douglass Corley, W. Douglass Corley Jr., Don Harker, Carlene Petersen and Bill Wright; Emily Kirchem, Richard Johnson, Rhona Kaczmarczyk, Bart Scott, Jordan Bridge, Grand Junction High School, James O'Connor, Bonnie Champion, Don Willsie, Brent Baribeau, Veronika Wojakowska, Mullen High School, Ft. Collins Tennis Association, Mozia Family, Guss Morrison, Cheyenne Edition, Caroline Schnell, Dave Warren, Hannah Laforest, Geoffrey Lewis, James Martinez, Tobias Ortegon, June Wooldridge and Donna O'Steen-Mixon

Sponsors: Platinum Sponsors: Chris, Tammy and Elizabeth Marsico; Patron Table Supporters: 1031; Katy Rady

Special Thanks: American Tape & Label; Shannon Binger; C2 Media; Kevin & Courtneay Odden; Marriott Denver Tech Center

Event Coordinator: Lisa Schaefer

Board of Directors: CTA Board of Directors: Nancy Pflughoeft - President; Taryn Archer, Lisa Bodey, Karen Brandner, Aaron Clay, Mike Haber, Lisa Harris, Susan Hommel, Sherril Kerr, Lew Kosich, Jon Messick, Guss Morrison, Art Rimando, Rob Scott, Nik Sorovic, Jim Whiteside, Kathleen Winegardner and Rich Young. CYTF Board of Trustees: Lisa Harris - President; Nicole Hola, David Kuosman, Courtneay Odden, Eileen Pero, Dennis Ralston, Randy Ross, Jeff Salzenstein, Janice Simpson, Tom Talmadge and Clinton Vessels III

Blacktie Photos by: Diane Kilian

 2006 Hall of Fame inductees: Bruce Avery, Carlene Petersen, Douglass Corley, Jr. and Bill Wright
2006 Hall of Fame inductees: Bruce Avery, Carlene Petersen, Douglass Corley, Jr. and Bill Wright

The Seventh Annual Colorado Tennis Hall of Fame Gala and Colorado Tennis Association Annual Awards Celebration provided a wonderful opportunity for the tennis community in Colorado to celebrate the achievements and contributions of a select group of people.

Following a private reception honoring current and past Hall of Fame members, more than 300 people of all ages gathered at the Denver Marriott Tech Center on Friday evening, February 9 for a reception, dinner and awards program. Guests from Denver, Ft. Collins, Vail, Grand Junction and other parts of the state spent time at the reception reconnecting with old friends and making new ones.

In addition to honoring 24 annual award winners, guests witnessed the induction of the following people into the Colorado Tennis Hall of Fame:

Bruce Avery--Bruce has been an active umpire in Colorado and at the U.S. Open for over 25 years. He is regarded as one of the most important and influential umpires in the nation. Bruce served as the referee for the Denver City Open for 20 years and has officiated at many mountain and front range tournaments.

W. Douglass Corley--Douglass became involved in tennis in 1947 and was president of the Southern Colorado Tennis Association during the 1950s and 1960s. He helped organize and build the Colorado Springs Racquet Club in 1965. The club’s annual junior tournament, the Corley Cup, was named in his honor.

W. Douglass Corley, Jr.--In addition to high school and college tennis championships, Doug holds six titles including the Denver City Open (1956, 1959), Colorado State Open (1961), and Intermountain Sectional Championships (1959 – 1961). He also competed in the U.S. Open three times and at the qualifying round at Wimbledon.

Don Harker--An extraordinary and influential tennis player, Don was the Denver City Open men’s singles champion in 1914, 1916, 1918, 1919 and 1923. Additionally, he was the Denver City Open men’s doubles champion in 1914, 1915, 1917, 1918, 1923, 1924 and 1925 and mixed doubles champion in 1917, 1918 and 1920.

Carlene Petersen--Carlene’s impressive background includes being the first woman to play on the men’s tennis team at William Jewell College, where she competed at the No. 1 singles spot for three years. In addition to winning numerous championships, Carlene also coached the women’s tennis team at the University of Denver for ten seasons beginning in 1974.

Bill Wright--Bill’s accomplished career in tennis consists of various distinguished championships, including the Denver City Open men’s singles (1960). He was ranked No. 7 in the country in the men’s 35-and-over division (1974). Bill has served as the men’s team coach at the University of Denver and Colorado State University, and as tennis director for the Vail Recreation District.

Proceeds from the gala benefit the Colorado Youth Tennis Foundation (CYTF), whose mission is to provide tennis opportunities to youth throughout the state. The CYTF makes a difference in the lives of children in Colorado through grants and individual scholarships. In addition to the fitness and social benefits from playing tennis, the CYTF views tennis as a way for children to learn important life skills such as self-confidence, sportsmanship and teamwork.

See More Past Events