Choose Your Team
Event Planning

Captured Event

January 30, 2009 - Colorado Tennis Hall of Fame Gala

What: Hall of Fame Gala

Where: Marriott Denver South at Park Meadows

When: Friday, January 30, 2009

Time: 5:00 -9:00 p.m.

Ticket Prices: Individual ticket $75 , Patron ticket: $125, Junior ticket $45, Patron table $1,500

Beneficiary: Colorado Youth Tennis Foundation

Presenting Sponsor(s): Steel Street Bank & Trust

Committee Members: Shannon Bigner, Nicole Hola

Board of Directors: CYTF Board of Trustees – 2008: Eileen Pero - President; Lisa Harris; Nicole Hola ; David Kuosman; Dave Romberg; Nancy Sayre; Janice Simpson; Tom Talmadge; David Van Liere; Clinton Vessels III; Dennis Ralston - Honorary; Randy Ross - Honorary; Jeff Salzenstein - Honorary

Blacktie Photos by: Lizzy Holmgren

 Father and son, Jim and Jeff Loehr- both Hall of Famers, left, with Mary Loehr, Shiela Carlon, and Kelly Loehr
Father and son, Jim and Jeff Loehr- both Hall of Famers, left, with Mary Loehr, Shiela Carlon, and Kelly Loehr

        On Friday, January 30th the Colorado Youth Tennis Foundation hosted their Colorado Tennis Hall of Fame Gala at the Marriott Denver South at Park Meadows. The Foundation is a fundraising arm of USTA Colorado, which provides tennis opportunities to youngsters in need throughout Colorado, regardless of their economic background. The program gives scholarships and grants throughout the state, making sure that even children from rural Colorado towns are allowed the opportunity to learn and perfect the sport. The foundation believes that the game teaches salient life skills, including sportsmanship, teamwork and self confidence.
            On this night, members of the foundation came together to celebrate the hard work and achievements of five individuals with their induction into the Colorado Tennis Hall of Fame.
Hall of Fame Inductees - Class of 2008
Paula Coulter
Charles Gates, Jr.
Allen Kiel
Katie Koontz
Jeff Loehr                
Following the awards for the Tennis Hall of Fame, additional awards were presented to players, organizations and volunteers who had demonstrated devotion and commitment to the sport.
Annual Award Recipients - 2008

Male High School Player - Casey MacMaster
Female High School Player - Caroline Schnell
Male College Player - Erik Kreutzer
Female College Player - Mallory Voelker
Male Player - Willie Dann
Female Player - Susan Wright
Senior Male Player - Dixie Baines
Senior Female Player - Rita Price
Umpire - Patti Bowman
Wheelchair Player - Rick Ruscio
Boys' High School Team - Kent Denver School
Girls' High School Team - Niwot High School
Organization - Grand Junction Tennis Club
Family - Evangelista Family
Volunteer - David Van Liere
Media Excellence - 9 News
Girls' Sportsmanship (under 14) - Jessika Mozia
Boys' Sportsmanship (under 14) - Eli Winegardner
Girls' Sportsmanship (15-18 yrs) - Clarke Tatje
Boys' Sportsmanship (15-18 yrs) - Harry Jewett
Junior Sportsmanship (Park & Rec) - Gabe Romero
Contributions to under-served Players - Marcos Martinez
Service to Recreational Players - Jim Tucker
Service to Tennis Community - Homer Reed

See More Past Events