Choose Your Team
Event Planning

Captured Event

September 18, 2011 - BBB Presents 17th Annual Excellence In Customer Service Award Gala

What: Annual awards gala for Southern Colorado Better Business Bureau

Where: Cheyenne Mountain Resort

When: Friday, September 23, 2011

Time: 5:00 p.m.

Ticket Prices: $89 for individual tickets; sponsorships: $1,250 to $5,000

Master of Ceremonies: Jon Karroll, KRDO Channel 13

Executive Director: Carol Odell

Committee Members: EICS Evaluators: Steve Andrilla, Lead Evaluator; Clara Akins, Katie Borremans, Rebecca Bumgarner, Ken Gibson, Steve Glaeser, Lauren Hennessy, Melissa Kerr, Colleen Knapp, Mark Laborde, John Mayher, Tom McCormick, Mike Miller, Lori Nolen, Teresa Oswandel, Carrie-Anne Oyloe, Sammy Payne, Jane Peck, Joanne Peterson, Miranda Price, Dave Richards, Val Schoenherr, Dave Sisson, Tim Spelman, Meri Villane

Introductions: Steve Andrilla, EICS program lead, Mark Wild, BBB Foundation Chair and George Harris, GE Johnson Construction

Invocation: Matt Barrett

Welcome: Carol Odell and Camille Blakely

Speaker: Medal of Honor recipient Peter Lemon

Libations: Sycamore Lane Merlot and Pinot Grigio

Music: Ryan Luecke

Sponsors: EVENT PARTNERS: American Furniture Warehouse, Checks Unlimited, Colorado Technical University, NewsChannel 13 KRDO, Pinnacol Assurance, The Gazette; SPEAKER PARTNERS: Air Academy Federal Credit Union, Thayer Productions; CONTRIBUTING PARTNERS: American Medical Response, Blakely + Company, Burghard Floral, Cheyenne Mountain Resort, Security Service Federal Credit Union, US Bank, Wal-Mart; SCHOLARSHIP PARTNERS: Photographer's Edge, Security Service Federal Credit Union, Woodford Manufacturing; CORPORATE TABLES: AspenPoint Inc., BiggsKofford/Photographer's Edge, Colorado Springs Utilities, Comcast, Ent Federal Credit Union, Luisa Graff Jewelers/Six & Geving Insurance, Moody Insurance/Principal Financial/Payroll City, Oral Surgery Associates of Colorado Springs, Penrad Imaging, Strategic Financial Partners, Trax Construction; ETHICS AWARD PARTNER: GE Johnson Construction

Attendance: 360

Attire: Business

Florist: John Lendenmann, Burghard Floral

Event Coordinator: Cat Eli

Board of Directors: Chair: Camille Blakely; Past Chair: Glenn Strebe; Vice Chair/Treasurer: Randy Geving; Secretary: Chris Washko; Officers at Large: Matt Colligan, Lynn R. Koldenhoven, Paul Masar; board members: Shelby Austin, Matt Barrett, Susan Bell-Smith, Beth Braaten, Jennifer Butcher, Vince Colarelli, Brenda Heinicke, Bill Johannsen, James Lucas, Susan Miller, James Nunn Jr., Bob Penkhus, David Sarton; BBBSC Foundation Board: Chair: Mark Wild; Past Chair: Gary Peacock; Vice Chair/Treasurer: Susan Presti; Secretary: Ted Sayer; Trustees: Julie Armstrong, Patsy Buchwald, McDonald "Mac" Kemp, Ray Nunn, Michael Pennica, Kelly Shaffer; Advisory Council: Howard Absetz, Shelby Austin, Jeff Cole, Marty Guerra, Brian Lucas, Shelly McPherson, Caroline Parra, Maria Puttre, Erin Somes, Laura Stankiewicz;

Blacktie Photos by: Pamela Cress

 Award winners Brittany Harp, Matt Colligan, Morris Roth, Natalie Speakman and Dr. John Hildebrandt
Award winners Brittany Harp, Matt Colligan, Morris Roth, Natalie Speakman and Dr. John Hildebrandt

Excellence certainly was the permeating theme at the Better Business Bureau of Southern Colorado Excellence in Customer Service awards held Friday night at the Cheyenne Mountain Resort. From the students, individuals and businesses who won awards this evening to the riveting speech delivered by Medal of Honor recipient Peter Lemon, the message was clear: those who care about other people make a difference.

Lemon received the Congressional Medal of Honor for his service in Vietnam and heroic action on April 1, 1970. Like most Medal of Honor recipients, he is quick to give credit to those around him and dedicates his medal to three comrades who died for their country that day: Casey Waller, Nathan Mann and Brent Street. He wrote a book entitled Beyond the Medal in order to ask recipients the same question he posed to the BBB audience: what makes someone risk their life and disregard their own welfare to save others? What makes business leaders want to excel in customer service? What defines courage?

Everyone in attendance will go away from this memorable evening remembering the "fishing story" that Lemon told and how it makes a difference to be honorable and trustworthy, even if you think no one is watching. Those qualities were exemplified in the people and companies receiving awards:

  • Berwick Electric received the GE Johnson Award for Marketplace Ethics;
  • Nathan Oden and Rebecca Higgs received scholarships from the BBB Foundation for the best responses in an essay contest to determine how they would react to racism in social media;
  • AspenPointe, Champion Windows, Learning RX, Inc. and Oral Surgery Associates of Colorado Springs were given the Excellence in Customer Service award after a rigorous application and judging process.

After all, it is the mission of the BBB to be the leader in establishing marketplace trust. With numerous programs, not just limited to the traditional complaint venue but also including training, mediation, assistance for seniors and other communication tools, the BBB is leading the way in excellence themselves. For more information, log on to


See More Past Events