Choose Your Team
Event Planning

Captured Event

November 18, 2011 - NPD Recognizes Outstanding Philanthropists

What: National Philanthropy Day in Colorado

Where: Hyatt Regency Denver at the Colorado Convention Center

When: Friday, November 18, 2011

Time: 11:00 a.m. – 1:30 p.m.

Ticket Prices: $45

EMCEE: John Ferrugia

Co-Chair(s): Christy Newhof, Maureen McDonald

Committee Members: De Ann Acosta, Rebekah Glatt Cardonsky, Eileen Danahy, Ericka Fleming, Jenna Hansen, Paula Henry, Aleah Horstman, Kristy Judd, Joanne Kelley, Karen Kruse, Maureen McDonald, Christy Newhof, Carol Nickell, Shannon Peterson, Eileen Prosser, Sally Rippey, Latia Shaw, Mark Skinner, Sarah Stockton, Gayle Walker and Patrice “TC” Werner

Speaker: Gov. John Hickenlooper

Catering: Hyatt Regency Denver

Sponsors: Rose Community Foundation, Adolph Coors Foundation, Anschutz Family Foundation, The Colorado Health Foundation, The Colorado Trust, Daniels Fund, Western Union Foundation, Kundinger, Corder & Engle, PC, Wells Fargo, 5280 Magazine, Accounting for Mission, Colorado Data Mail, Colorado Nonprofit Development Center, Comcast, cuttlefish arts, Denver's 7 (KMGH-TV), Denver Business Journal, Denver Post Community and Kroenke Sports Charities

Attendance: 950

Attire: Business Casual

Blacktie Photos by: Marcelo Mainzer

 Marilyn Van Derbur Atler, Lifetime Achievement award winner
Marilyn Van Derbur Atler, Lifetime Achievement award winner

Philanthropy etymologically means "the love of humanity” so by definition philanthropists are those who add love to the world through giving freely of their time, energy and money.  

The National Philanthropy Day in Colorado, now in its 12th year, acknowledges individuals and organizations for their contributions to Colorado communities. 
Over 900 people came to the Hyatt Regency Denver at the Colorado Convention Center to applaud this year’s outstanding philanthropists.
This year’s honorees were:
  • LaFawn Biddle for Outstanding Philanthropist
  • Bob Cooper for Outstanding Professional in Philanthropy – Fundraising
  • Zonta Club of Denver for Outstanding Service Organization
  • Temple Hoyne Buell Foundation for Outstanding Foundation
  • Otterbox for Outstanding Small Business or Corporation
  • Anadarko Petroleum Corporation for Outstanding Large Business or Corporation
  • Susan Lane for Outstanding Volunteer
  • William H. Winn for Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser
  • Gage Crispe for Outstanding Youth
  • The Lafayette Youth Advisory Committee for Outstanding Youth Group
  • Terri Konrad for Outstanding Professional in Philanthropy – grantmaking 
  • Marilyn Van Derbur Atler for the Lifetime Achievement award
Governor John Hickenlooper, a philanthropist in his own right, attended and praised current and former award winners for showing how through strategic partnering individuals, businesses, governmental agencies and charitable organizations improve the quality of living for all Coloradans.
Past winners included : Wild Oats Community Market, Continental Airlines, Odell Brewing Company, Anschutz Family Foundation, Womens Foundation of Colorado, Jared Polis, Bob and Sharon Magness, Peter Konrad, Karen Campbell, Community Shares of Colorado, Catholic Charities, Sue Foerster, Larry Wolk M.D., Arlene Hirschfeld, Walt and Georgia Imhoff, Alyssa Motz, Joey Ruffini, Safe City Youth Power Leadership Team, Logan School for Creative Learning, just to list a very few of the more then one hundred outstanding people and businesses awarded and the thousands who were considered.
“The results of philanthropy are always beyond calculation.
Miriam Beard

See More Past Events