Choose Your Team
Event Planning

Captured Event

September 27, 2012 - BBB of Southern Colorado Presents 'Night of Excellence'

What: Annual awards gala for outstanding businesses and individuals

Where: Antler's HIlton

When: Thursday, September 27, 2012

Time: 5:00 p.m. reception; dinner & awards: 6:00 p.m.

Ticket Prices: $100; Sponsor tables: $1,300 to $5,000

Executive Director: Carol Odell

Committee Members: Evaluators: Clara Akins, Katie Borremans, Julie Gantt, Ken Gibson, Steve Glaeser, Lauren Hennessy, Amber Hopeman, Stephanie Johnson, Becky Jones, Colleen Knapp, Mark Laborde, Teresa Oswandel, Sammy Payne, Jane Peck, Joanne Peterson, Dave Sisson, Tim Spelman, Steve Andrilla, Mike Miller, Meri Villane

Staff: For a complete staff list:

Invocation: Stephanie Finley

Speaker: Dr. Janet Lapp

Sponsors: Ethics Award Partner: GE Johnson Construction; Event Partners: Checks Unlimited, Colorado Technical University, Comcast, Pinnacol Assurance; Media Sponsor: KRDO Channel 13; Speaker Partners: Air Academy Federal Credit Union, Thayer Productions; Contributing Partners: American Medical Response, Blakely + Company, US Bank; Scholarship Partners: Photographer's Edge, Woodford Manufacturing;

Quote of the evening: "I find dysfunctional men within 100 miles...and then I marry them." --Dr. Janet Lapp, joking about her psychology background

Menu: Mixed greens with cranberries, Feta cheese and pine nuts, chicken and salmon in lemon caper sauce, roasted potatoes, asparagus, Tiramisu

Attire: Business

Florist: Platte Floral

Board of Directors: Chair: Randy Geving; Vice Chair/Treasurer: Glenn Strebe; Secretary: Chris Washko; Officers at Large: Matt Colligan, Lynn R. Koldenhoven, Paul Masar; Board members: Shelby Austin, Matt Barrett, Camille Blakely, Beth Braaten, Jennifer Butcher, Vince Colarelli, Douglas Gibson, Brenda Heinicke, Bill Johannsen, James Lucas, Susan Miller, James Nunn Jr., David Sarton; Foundation Board: Susan Presti, Chair; Mark Wild, Past Chair; Ted Sayer, Secretary; Trustees: Patsy Buchwald, Michael Pennica, Ray Nunn, Gary Peacock, Kelly Shaffer, Howard Absetz

Blacktie Photos by: Pamela Cress

 Scholarship recipients Josh Sherwood, left, and Grant Padovich
Scholarship recipients Josh Sherwood, left, and Grant Padovich

It certainly was excellence all around as the Better Business Bureau of Southern Colorado presented the 18th annual customer service awards program at the Antler's Hilton on Thursday evening. Now dubbed "A Night of Excellence," the BBB announced six winners of the Excellence Award and also two recipients of the scholarship program.

Guests were mingling and catching up during the reception preceding the program, as KJ & Strings Attached played upbeat tunes. Jon Karroll of KRDO Channel 13 returned as exemplary emcee, and kept the program rolling as everyone anticipated the awards. CEO Carol Odell welcomed everyone, and Board Chair Randy Geving reluctantly told everyone that Carol Odell will be retiring next Spring. Carol received a standing ovation for her many years of service. Susan Presti, Chair of the BBB Foundation board, then presented $2,500 scholarships to Grant Padovich and Josh Sherwood.

Before the Excellence Awards were announced, the crowd was treated to a dynamic and energetic speech by renowned psychologist and A-list speaker, Dr. Janet Lapp, who urged everyone to "let it go" and reminded all of us to "nurture ourselves, because sometimes we are too busy nurturing others." Dr. Lapp called up an audience member whom she promptly started dragging around on her back, to demonstrate that we all take on heavy loads that sometimes preclude us from being ultimately happy. She also showed a video of her granddaughter, who was not expected to recover from a horrible plane crash last summer, but who rose against all odds to once again be the vibrant person that she is. Watching the video of her recovery sent the message that life is awfulyl short and precious, and we should not waste time with keeping score of injustices. Dr. Lapp had the crowd laughing and crying simultaneously.

The program then resumed with the 2012 Awards of Excellence. Recipients were:

  • US Bank
  • Endodontic Specialists
  • All Smiles Dental
  • Champion Windows
  • Wilderness Aware Rafting
  • Penrose St. Francis Health Services

Congratulations to all the winners, and to all those whom they serve with such excellence.


See More Past Events