Choose Your Team
Event Planning

Captured Event

February 28, 2013 - 2013 ABCRMC Awards Dinner

What: Annual reception and awards dinner to honor individuals and companies exemplifying excellence in merit shop construction in Colorado

Where: Embassy Suites Denver – Downtown/Convention Center

When: Thursday, February 28, 2013

Time: Reception 5:30 p.m.; 6:30 p.m. dinner and awards program

Ticket Prices: $50 individual

Beneficiary: Associated Builders and Contractors - Rocky Mountain Chapter (ABCRMC)

EMCEE: Board and event chair, Jeff Erker; Chapter CEO & President Mark Latimer

Gala Chairperson(s): Board chair Jeff Erker, FCI Construction

Staff: President & CEO, Mark M. Latimer; Director of Meetings and Events, Joanna Johnson; Director of Member Services, Brett McCann; Director of Communications, Scott Merritt

Catering: Embassy Suites Denver – Downtown/Convention Center

Sponsors: PLATINUM: Duro Electric; Greiner Electric, LLC; FCI Constructors, Inc; Milender White Construction Co., Willis; GOLD: Colorado Machinery - Ft. Collins; Encore Electric, Inc.; FMI Corporation; Hensel Phelps Construction Co.,LPR Construction Co.; Shaw Construction; Spacecon Specialty Contractors, LLC; United Rentals; SILVER: Bauerle and Company, P.C.; BKD CPAs & Advisors; Central Mechanical; MTech Mechanical Technologies Group; Northern Electric, Inc.; Rex Oil Company, Inc.; TEMP-AIR, Inc.; Weld County Garage GMC;; BRONZE: Maxwell Systems

Menu: Salad: mixed garden greens with herb vinaigrette; Entree: grilled breast of chicken with Marsala wine sauce; rice or potato du jour; fresh seasonal vegetables; rolls and butter; Dessert: New York cheesecake with a raspberry coulis; Beverages: Starbucks coffee and hot Tazo teas

Attendance: 100

Event Coordinator: Joanna Johnson, director of meetings and events

Board of Directors: Chair: Jeff Erker, FCI Constructors, Inc.; Chair-Elect: Brandon Berumen, LEI companies, Inc.; Treasurer: Scott Oglesby, Bauerle & Company, P.C.; Secretary: Jeff Champagne, The Skilled Trades Company; Past Chair: Bryon White, Milender White Construction Co. Directors: Sean Chenoweth, Sunstate Equipment Company, LLC; Chris Cole, Encore Electric, Inc.; Steve Donnelly, RK Mechanical, Inc.; Doug Grogan, Shaw Construction; Mark Medlyn, Hensel Phelps Construction Co.; Steve Foote, Greiner Electric LLC; Bob Yelinski, Spacecon Specialty Contractors, LLC.; Jason Maxwell, White Construction Group; and Matt Johnson, Mortenson Construction.

Blacktie Photos by: Lisa Perry

 Chapter president and CEO Mark Latimer (left) and board chair Jeff Erker congratulate Emilee Cook, LEI Companies, as Young Leader of the Year.
Chapter president and CEO Mark Latimer (left) and board chair Jeff Erker congratulate Emilee Cook, LEI Companies, as Young Leader of the Year.

Associated Builders and Contractors Rocky Mountain Chapter certainly hit the nail on the head, celebrating 38 years of advancing merit shop construction in Colorado with its annual awards dinner on Thursday, Feb. 28. Around 100 members and guests attended this year’s event at the Embassy Suites downtown to honor individuals and member companies who have shown outstanding commitment, dedication and superior contributions to the chapter, ABC National, the industry and to the merit shop philosophy.

The evening began with a convivial cocktail reception followed by delicious plated dinner. Board and event chair Jeff Erker and chapter President Mark Latimer served as emcees and handed out awards. Director of Member Services Brett McCann also was onstage to announce honorees, and last year’s ABCer of the Year, Jeff Champagne, presented this year’s trophy to Bob Purchase. The program featured a month-by-month look back over the events and good times of 2012, prompting comments and applause as photos depicted fun-filled memories.

This year’s honorees:

New member: Power Management System & Sales Incorporated
BEAM Club: Matt Johnson, Mortenson Construction; Sarah Armstrong, FCI Constructors
Merit Bronze Level: Kenny Pfannenstiel, LPR
Merit Silver Level: Keith Couch, Colorado Machinery
Platinum Partners: Duro Electric Company, FCI Constructors Inc., Greiner Electric LLC, Milender White Construction Co., Morenson Construction, RK Mechanical Inc., Spacecon Specialty Contractors, Transwest GMC, Willis of Colorado
Gold Partners: Colorado Machinery, EKS&H, Encore Electric Inc., Flood & Peterson Insurance, FMI Corporation, Hensel Phelps Construction Co., LPR Construction Co., Pinkard Construction Co., Shaw Construction, United Rentals
Silver Partners: Bauerle & Company PC, BKD CPAs and Advisors, Central Mechanical, CLP Resources Inc., KeyBank, LEI Companies, MTech Mechanical Technologies Group, Northern Electric, Olson & Olson Ltd., Rex Oil Company Inc., Temp-Air Inc., Weld County Garage GMC,
Bronze Sponsors: Allcable, Maxwell Systems, Stettner Miller PC, The Skilled Trades Company
Special Service Award: Sean Chenoweth, Sunstate Equipment Company
Community Service Award: Greiner Electric
President’s Award: Northern Colorado Committee
Outstanding New Member: Douglass Colony Group
Associate of the Year: CLP Resources
Supplier of the Year: Sunstate Equipment Company
Subcontractor of the Year: LEI Companies
General Contractor of the Year: FCI Constructors, Inc.
Young Leader of the Year: Emilee Cook, LEI Companies
ABCer of the Year: Bob Purchase, Allcable

Associated Builders and Contractors is a national trade association representing over 23,000 merit shop contractors, subcontractors, material suppliers and construction-related firms in 75 chapters across the United States. The association's membership includes all specialties within the U.S. construction industry and is comprised primarily of firms that perform work in the industrial, commercial and institutional sectors of the industry. ABC is recognized as one of the leading organizations representing America's business community and the construction industry. In fact, Fortune magazine rated ABC as one of the "Most Influential" organizations in the United States.

Through the Rocky Mountain Chapter, ABC's activities are targeted to meet its members' needs, including: government representation, legal advocacy, education and training, communications support, information resources, access to technology, recognition through national and chapter awards programs, business development, information on best practices, insurance and fringe benefit programs. ABC is devoted to supporting the success of its member firms and to advancing the merit shop construction philosophy. This philosophy encourages open competition and a free-enterprise approach to business, which awards contracts based solely on merit, regardless of labor affiliation. For more information, visit:

See More Past Events