Choose Your Team
Event Planning

August, 15 2009 - Dancing for Hope Gala Brings New Steps to Fundraising Format

All photos

View event details

Dr. Richard and Linda Kelley sponsored that little vacation you've been needing to take - 5 moonlit walks on the velvet beach of Waikiki's Outrigger Hotel. Frances Owens, left, Diane Huttner, Dan Sharp, Roselyn Saunders and Keri Christiansen. Roselyn Saunders and Dan Sharp have the Palm Beach Chic attire down. Keri Christiansen, Frances Owens, Doug Tisdale, Lynne Hanstra and Doug's daughter, Sara.
Mary White, Sara O'Mary (pink), Ken Montelius and wife, Carlyle (tan) with Lynn Bunnell. Staff from CNI: Dennis Severson, Lee Shaughnessy and Ellen Belle answer any questions on the auction items. Colby James West (not his stage name) flanked by body guards, Elise and Katie McKenney. Sandy Greenberg and Dr. Gregory Buford take in the city-scape with Shelley Blas.
One of tonight's celebrity dancers, Debra McKinney with Nancy Sevo and Carol Strickland. Donna and Barry Westbrook, friends of Kay Gilbert, CNI's Director of Marketing, came out from the coast just for this event. Bonnie and David Mandarich pause just inside the patio. CNI supporters, Sarah Gallery and Marcus Turner.
Artemis Khadiwala-Donian, Dr. Dean Prina and Patricia Barela-Rivera catch up before the dance-off. Brothers, Seth and Stan Mohler put on a Smothers Brothers routine for Sherry Huntsinger. Gayle and Ed Novak signing in at the registration table. Edie Marks, Chuck McKinney, Mark Gershien and Layne Hunt meeting a lot of friends at the party.
Craig Fleishman and Layne Hunt. Caitlyn Belle, Elise McKinney and McKenzie Brennman Colby James and his crew bidding at the silent auction. Edie Marks (left) and Ginny Messina (right) with 2009 Dawn Denzer Community Leader Award recipients, Joe & Helenn Franzgrote.
Carolyn Cattani standing with Doug Tisdale. Gala members Bonnie Mandarich, Douglas Kerbs, Nancy Sevo and David Mandarich with Smart-Girl's Debra McKinney (center), who dances tonight in honor of her mother. Gail and George Johnson enjoying the evening with a glass of Tisdale wine. Manny & Sue Viarvial, event judge Cleo Parker Robinson, Patty and Kenny Moore.
Dr. Alan Weintraub, Kirsten & Ruediger Bracht peruse the silent auction room. Stephanie Odak with friend, Sherry Huntsinger. Artemis Khadiwala-Donian, Stephanie Odak and Sherry Huntsinger. Stephanie in the arms of husband, Perry Odak.
A good place to meet up with old friends, Kimberly Jamerson and Edward Shaoul. Suzy Nelson and Joe Sanford (right) of Moment's Notice are always ready to get the crowds up and dancing. Denver Magazine's Michael Ledvitz and Gala committee member, John Tobey Deb Lamb, Heather Kucera, Sara Dodge, Laurie Hostetler, Marcel Dorsey, Maureen Regan-Cannon and Virginia Brown.
Helenn Franzgrote accepts the Dawn Denzer Community Leader Award and gets a standing ovation for her and husband, Joe's, dedication to CNI's work. Colorado Dancesport Professional instructors wow the audience with a synchronized tango. Bill Ward hustles Allison Whelan to his theme song, Stayin' Alive. Toby Munroe approaches Debi Tepper for what becomes a steamy - and disrobing - salsa.
Debi Tepper, a Clinical Nursing instructor, clearly liked the lifts the best. Celebrity judges: Cleo Parker Robinson, Robert Nardozza, and Terry Vitale. Celebrity judges confer on very difficult decisions. Scott Koogle has Mary White inches from the floor in a smooth sliding dip.
Intermission heats up with Harmony & Toby Munroe. Matt Brown plants a classic kiss on girlfriend, Anne Marie Kelley. Manny & Sue Viarvial have some great boogie-woogie going. Cha-Cha Diva, Debra McKinney, gets "sassy, sexy" accolades from the judges. Her teacher and dance partner, Mitch Kibel, right.
Dance Chair Roselyn Saunders proudly hands Debra McKinney a star-shaped trophy for "Cha-Cha Diva". Bill Ward snags the Hustle King Award. Judges loved Mary White and Scott Koogle's tango, dubbing her, "The Tango Queen". The polyester clinched it - Bill Ward wins the Judges Choice Award as well for his "connected and in-synch rhythm."
"Cabaret Cutie", Arlene Mohler-Johnson, with Brook Metcalfe grab each other when they win the People's Choice Award. Gala Chair, Douglas Kerbs, proudly chooses CNI as his cause.    
See More Past Events