Choose Your Team
Event Planning

May, 12 2012 - BGCMD's Largest Youth of the Year Gala Sparkles with Energy

All photos

View event details

(l to r): Guest-greeters Shaina, Aliz and BGCMD development coordinator, Jenna Fedie Cheering for BGCMD (l to r): Jahnisha, Marisella and Dixie Andy Aguirre (left) and Teo Vasquez (l to r): co-chair Joan Burleson, DMNS CEO George Sparks, Kathy McConahy and BGCMD's CEO John Arigoni
Youth of the Year Gala co-chairs (l to r): Kent Thiry, Denise O'Leary, James Mulligan and Joan Burleson Kara Davis (left), with Brock Vendsel and Cheryl Matlosz Ina Gustafsen and Lakewood Mayor Bob Murphy (l to r): Christina Carton, Jake Whitted, Mike and Tammy Linsay, Kristin Sprinkle, Nicole Skorupka and Cheryl Matlosz
(l to r): Cedric Buchanon, Katy and John Shaw, Sherman Miller and Kelli Buchanon Kathleen Welo (left), with Alexis and Andy Boian Tammy Wertz (left), with Rob and Holly Shilliday (l to r): Ashley and Jim Kilroy, Kathy and Pat Shaw, and John O'Brien
Sarah Hogan (left) and Cori Plotkin (l to r): Cathy Walter, Tom Feist, Sarah Holgren and Peggy Igoe Don Vancil and Ellen Stewart Liza Dennahy (left), with Lorraine Huck and Cyrus Rajabi
Cathie and Bronco great Billy Thompson (l to r): Monica, Jose and Emilia Garcia Jen and Alan Ihrke Youth of the Year awardees with BGCMD's CEO, John Arigoni
Supporting BGCMD (l to r): co-chairs James Mulligan and Joan Burleson, CEO John Arigoni, and co-chairs Denise O'Leary and Kent Thiry At the reception (l to r): Gov. John Hickenlooper and Colorado First Lady Helen Thorpe, event co-chairs James Mulligan and Joan Burleson, CEO John Arigoni, and event co-chairs Denise O'Leary and Kent Thiry 2012 Youth of the Year honorees with Gov. John Hickenlooper (back, center), event co-chairs Kent Thiry and Joan Burleson (back, left), and event co-chairs Joan Burleson and James Mulligan (back row, right) Gov. John Hickenlooper congratulates 2012 Youth of the Year honoree Manuel Anchondo
Gov. John Hickenlooper (center), with Youth of the Year Manuel Anchondo and Manuel's parents (on left) (l to r): Michelle Wilson, James Foreman, Ronni McCaffrey and Barbara Frank (l to r): Jeff and Tina Boring, Jim and Jacquie Scherre, and Lesa and Leo Shkolnik Kelly and James Thorstad, Jr.
(l to r): Pamela Howard, Malcinia Conley, Charlie Leder and Mischa Ofori (l to r): Don Collins, Margaret Bachrach, Board Chair Tom O'Donnell, and ESPN analyst/former Bronco QB Brian and Brook Griese (l to r): Melissa Leder, Anthony and Allison Bejarano, and Megan Leder (l to r): Jon Ahern, Abby Anderson, John Paul Anderson and Vy Nguyen
Heidi and David White toast to BGCMD (l to r): sponsor Libby Anschutz Brown, Jennie Greenlee, Seth and Josh Larson and Jamie Van Leeuwen, of the Governor's office Denver Mayor Michael Hancock (right) chats with BGCMD supporters at the reception. Honorary event co-chairs Gov. John Hickenlooper (left) and Denver Mayor Michael Hancock
The pre-dinner reception was buzzing with energy at the Hyatt Regency Denver at Colorado Convention Center. (l to r): co-Champion of Youth awardee Bob Shopneck, Congressman Ed Perlmutter, Geoff and Kendall Bailey, and Denver District Attorney Mitch Morrissey Ed and Logan Brown check out a John Elway jersey at the silent auction. (l to r): Jim and Karen Possehl, Alison Nelligan, and Sarah and Bob Possehl
(l to r): Aaron and Haley Jacks, and Haley Tables were readied for nearly 1,000 dinner guests. (l to r): Tom and Sheri Paiz, and Kathleen and Ed O'Donnell (l to r): Bob Kelley, Vanna Tucker, John Garcia, and Robb and Robin Fort
Two of the three 2012 Champion of Youth award-winners: Jim Bershof (left) and Bob Shopneck (Jim Howell suffered a back injury and was unable to attend.) (l to r): Bob and Betsy Swift, Kerry and Lane Hamilton, and Charissa and Dana Bondy Jason Kleinhelter (left) and Blake Mourer (l to r): Phil Johnson, Lou Raders, and Brooke and Bill Brown
(l to r): Sue and Jim Pasterkamp, and Mike and Kelly DeMattee Youths of the Year honorees line up before their introduction on stage. Youths of the Year honorees prepare for the awards program. Youths of the Year honorees ready to hit the stage.
Event co-chairs on stage: James Mulligan at podium, and (l to r, behind): Joan Burleson, Denise O'Leary and Kent Thiry Denver Mayor Michael Hancock, honorary event co-chair, talked about his nephew's success story with BGCMD. Honorary event co-chair Gov. John Hickenlooper cited the success statistics associated with BGCMD members. Club member and Youth of the Year honoree Cristian Malpica serenaded guests with piano music during dinner.
The Centennial Ballroom, Denver's largest, hosted 1,000 dinner guests. Quireace Cobb and Amoni Law performed "I'm Shining," an original dance onstage. Ivy Robinson sang "Who Says" for an appreciative crowd. Event co-chair and sponsor, DaVita CEO Kent Thiry, entices guests to get up and dance for an extra $30,000 donation. (They complied.)
2012 Youth of the Year club honorees take the stage. 2012 Youth of the Year award-winner Manuel Anchondo, relates his personal story of overcoming adversity. 2012 Youth of the Year Manuel Anchondo finishes his talk by simply placing a placard of his career goal on stage. He's head to CSU this fall. 2011's Youth of the Year winner closes the program with an update on her first year at CSU.
See More Past Events