Choose Your Team
Event Planning

February, 01 2013 - Colorado Tennis Inducts Four Into Hall of Fame

All photos

View event details

Paula McClain, USTA Colorado director of marketing and diversity, arrives at the gala Eileen Pero, with USTA Colorada Executive Director Fritz Garger Emcee Andy Zodin, left, with Gary Harris and 2013 inductee Chad Harris (holding daughter Riley) Andy Zodin, with Gary, Chad, Riley, Bronwyn and Matthew Harris
Joe and Madison Gallegos enjoy the gala Voradel Carey, Pat Kelly and Paula McClain ready to mingle with gala guests. Volunteers Anita Cooper and Jarret Sutphin of USTA Colorado help arriving guests sign in Taylor McKinley and Jason Rogers giving their time to help raise money for CYTF.
Ray and Eileen Thompson arrive at the Hall of Fame Gala Pius Mozia and Matthew Mozia, with 2007 inductee Roald Flater and his wife, Sheryl Fritz Garger with the Heinickes: Nye, Victoria (2013 inductee), Courtney and Jennifer Javier Midon, with Vivian, Paul, Eva-Lou, Mavis and Seola Edwards
Wheelchair player award winner Wayne Bennett and Jess Sporte Mike Blanchette and Andy Zodin ready for the big night Dan Gray and Sam Hitman of the Denver Tennis Club Judi Fenner (Clyde Rogers Award winner), center, with Elyssa Peters and Rebekah Earhart
Jason Colter, Bill Anderson and Lisa Damico enjoying the gala Julie Francis and Angela Emery mingle with the gala guests Jack Cella Award winner Hayden Sabatka, with Madison Porter, Karen Ewton, Heather Sabatka, Ryan Heiland and Cathy and Darrell Sabatka Shen Goldman, Josefa Crotty (Shwayder Award winner) and Carol Friesen
The living members of the Hall of Fame Class of 2013: Chad Harris, Warrick Jones and Victoria Heinicke 2005 inductee Jeanette Paddock with Dave and Carol Warren Krista Schulz and Kevin Heinicke enjoying the evening Cherry Creek HS coach Kirk Price with his team, Dan Pierce, Hans Bereal, Connor McPherson, Jake Miller, Connor Petrou, 2013 Hall inductee Chad Harris, Jace Blackburn, Gifford Mellick, Coart Williamson, Dan Steinhauser and Art Quinn
USTA Colorado executive director Fritz Garber with Alden Bock and Ashley Tindle Award winners Ram Vuppala and Luke Lorenz with USTA board member Mike Humphrey Lisa Harris and Davey Jones with Judy and Steve Savage Kristy Jenkins and Kailey Jonas giving their time for a good cause
Sylvia Henderson and USTA Colorado board member Angela Finan enjoy the gala Liz Mellick, David Kaprielian and Rob Hill mingle with gala guests John Martinez and Erin Brown arrive at the gala Morgan Cohen, Kelly Woodman and Julia Mannino of the Cherry Creek HS tennis team await the award ceremony
Tennis officials Randy Brame, Bruce Avery and John Suter enjoy the gala Bruce Wright and award winner Hayden Sabatka chat before the awards Brent, Milena and Georgia Lang sit down to dinner The Li family: Katie, Xinlin (standing) and Jinfang wating for the awards to begin
USTA Colorado board member Brett Haberstick calls the induction ceremony to order Awards emcee Andy Zodin begins the ceremony with a live auction Neil Everett talks of the importance of supporting youth tennis ESPN sports anchor Neil Everett helps induct the late Clayton Benham into the Colorado Tennis Hall of Fame
Josefa Crotty receives the Faye and Dorothy Shwayder Award Josefa Crotty, David Warren and Hayden Sabatka await their awards Harrison Lang and Hayden Sabatka receive the Jack Cella award Dan Steinhauser of Cherry Creek accepts the best high school boys team award on behalf of his teammates
Mirian and Betsy Benham accept Clayton Benham's induction in to the Hall of Fame The Cherry Creek HS girls team accepts the award for outstanding female high school squad Mark Williams receives the Ade Butler Award for outstanding official Wayne Bennett accepts the Jerry and Lillian Brawer Award fo outstanding wheelchair player
John Martinez and Erin Brown accept on behalf of Denver Parks and Recreation Chad Harris speaks after his induction to the Colorado Tennis Hall of Fame The Li family accepts the award for utstanding service to the tennis community Casey Zhong accepts the Margaret Rogers Phipps sportsmanship award
Ram Vuppala accepts the John Hough Award for sportsmanship Eva-Lou Edwards receives the Phyllis Lockwood award for sportsmanship Luke Lorenz receives the Reidy Award for sportsmanship Kacey Walisundra accepts the Charley and Ira Brown Award for sportsmanship
2013 Hall of Fame inductee Warrick Jones gives a short but sweet speech Lori Tavarez accepts the Jody Reiser Knudsen Award for volunteer work for tennis Taryn Archer was the 2013 recipient of the Arthur Ashe Award for her work bringing tennis to the underserved Judi Fenner recieves the Clyde Rogers Award for her service to amateur players
Cindy MacMaster receives the Bud Robineau Award for her contributions to Colorado tennis Andy Zodin spells out the contributions of 2013 inductee Victoria Palmer Heinicke Victoria Palmer Heinicke addresses the crowd after her Hall of Fame induction Emcee Andy Zodin and ESPN anchor Neil Everett talk after the awards and inductions
See More Past Events